WHAT IS GOD’S GLORY?

Have you ever been asked this question or have you wondered yourself?  We all talk about God’s glory but it is hard to define or explain.  No longer.  John Piper has addressed this issue.  Click here to read his explanation.  The short answer is

So God’s glory is the radiance of his holiness, the radiance of his manifold, infinitely worthy and valuable perfections.

It will only take a couple minutes to read his whole explanation so I would encourage you to check it out.  It is my guess that many of you will have the same reaction that I had.  After I read Piper’s explanation my thought was “Yea, that is it.  Now why didn’t I think of that myself.”  Now the next time the question comes up I will have the answer.

Do you have a different explanation to the question?  Share it with us and we will discuss it.

6 Responses to WHAT IS GOD’S GLORY?

  1. Hitchcock says:

    How do you think Piper would defend against the claim that such a definition of glory as “God’s radiance” opens up the possibility of a breach of the Godhead? Jesus Christ, the Son of God, is described as the only real radiance of the Father (Heb 1:3). If all creation is to glorify God by being suffused by His radiance, as seems to be the direction of Piper’s definition, could it not be said that the creaturely realm is being too closely identified with God?

    Like

  2. Tom Shelton says:

    Hitchcock,

    (Hebrews 1:3) He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,

    I can’t begin to guess how Piper might answer your question. I have read the above verse and the Piper quote multiple times this afternoon and I am not sure that you are comparing apples to apples. In other words, I don’t think these are contradictory statements at all. In fact, they may be complimentary in some ways.

    It is an interesting question though and might be worthy of some more indepth study. So, what are your thoughts on this?

    Like

  3. jimmy says:

    I hear people say all the time give God Glory, The thing is how do you give what you don,t know, or what you do not have’ It.s like saying Bless you, bless me with what? Let me ask this question, what is Glory?

    Like

  4. gods glory is JESUS CHRIST A MAN

    Like

  5. jimmy says:

    Then Jesus Christ being The Glory of GOD, then to give GOD glory is to give Jesus Christ to GOD, HOW]? My though is to let Holy Spirit dwell in you and give yourself to GOD by living right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 418 other followers

