SPIRITUAL GIFTS

Later this month I will begin teaching a class on Sunday nights about spiritual gifts.  It will not be an in-depth study but is meant to be an introductory study.  This will be an important study for our church (and for any church for that matter) because a person who does not know his/her spiritual gifts will not understand the best place for them to serve in the church.  But just knowing your gifts is not enough, you must be obedient to God and use them. 

I was disobedient for many years in the use of my spiritual gifts.  My gifts are teaching, discernment, and administration.  Teaching has always been primary.  I did not like that God had gifted me to teach and I refused every opportunity I had to use it.  I went so far as to seek out and take multiple different spiritual gift assessment tests trying to get a different result but as long as I answered the questions honestly I kept getting the same results…imagine that (now does that not fit the definition of insanity).  But thankfully God was patient with me and He kept putting me in situations that gave me an opportunity to be obedient (or disobedient). 

God did not gift us for our own edification.  We are gifted to edify others and the church.  By this I mean that if we are not using our gifts then others are missing out on the blessings they should be receiving.  And if others are not using their gifts we are not receiving the blessings we should be.  In speaking to the church at Corinth Paul said this “Now concerning spiritual gifts, brothers, I do not want you to be uninformed.” (1 Corinthians 12:1 ESV)  We today need to also be informed about our spiritual gifts. 

What are your gifts?  How do you use them?  How have you been blessed by using them?

2 Responses to SPIRITUAL GIFTS

  1. Brett says:

    Cool. Just finished preaching through 1 Corinthians 12-14. Of course, you probably knew that. Tough stuff; lot of disagrement and confusion out there.

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    I actually started this class back in the spring but because of various scheduling conflicts we had to stop after the first meeting. Just now able to get started back up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

