Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9

This was posted today.  I have been searching for Arminian Exegesis and this blog seems to be attempting to put some of it out there.  I have read the article but I need some time to think about what the author is saying.  I wanted to share it with you though so you could also analyze it.  Tell me what you think when you have read it. 

Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9

One Response to Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9

  1. rincrast says:

    Hey, Tom.

    I noticed a lot of problems with his exegesis of that passage, not the least of which that he confuses Paul’s real point. He says:

    Thus far, Paul’s whole point has been to show the Jews that it takes more than being a descendant of Abraham to be one of God’s children.

    That isn’t Paul’s point, and this statement leads into the other error I’ll cite (though there are others). Paul’s point is to explain that the “word of God hasn’t failed” in light of the fact that he had just said (at the end of Romans 8) that nothing can separate us from the love of God (which was talking about individuals I might add). So then, if God’s promises cannot fail, and nothing can separate from God’s love, then what about national Israel? Paul then goes on to explain that it was never God’s intention to choose every individual out of Israel for salvation, which carries through into chapter 11 where Paul speaks about the “remnant, chosen by grace.” (11:5) Individual gentiles are chosen in this same way as well. (9:24)

    Secondly, if you look closely, in at least one case the author of that article switched between discussing individuals to discussing national identities.

    “For He says to Moses, ‘I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion” (9.15). If God wants to have mercy on the Gentiles, does He not reserve that right? I mean, mercy belongs to Him. Should He not have the right to exercise it on whomever He desires? Paul concludes, “So then it does not depend on the man who wills or the man who runs, but on God who has mercy. For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, ‘For this very purpose I raised you up, to demonstrate My power in you, and that My name might be proclaimed throughout the whole earth” (9.16-17).

    Certainly God does call people OUT OF the Gentiles, just like He does the Jews (see verse 24) but the point of the passage is not showing mercy to Gentiles in particular.

    There are of course other errors in his exegesis, but I’ll leave it at those for now. Further, if you haven’t read Dr. James White’s exegesis of Romans 9, you can do so on his blog, here and here.

    SDG,
    dbh

    PS — I will say this — at least an attempt was made to deal with the issues of Romans 9:6 and the text in order. This is something that is often lacking. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

