Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9 Part II

This is the continuation of the article I linked to yesterday.  I appreciate the authors willingness to give his exegesis of this text.  In my first reading of the post one thing really jumped out at me.  The author refers to a person “cleansing himself” through faith.  If this were the case then it would seem to completely destroy God’s sovereignty in the doctrine of election.  Did I misunderstand his point?  Read the post for yourself at the link below.

Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9 Part II

3 Responses to Classical Arminianism: An Arminian Exegesis of Romans 9 Part II

  1. Billy Birch says:

    This is the author of the Classical Arminianism blog.

    In response to your complaint about someone cleansing himself, I was simply quoting Scripture. Paul wrote to Timothy, in 2Timothy 2.21, that if anyone cleanses himself from the latter, he will be a vessel for honor, sanctified and useful for the Master, prepared for every good work. NKJV

    Of course I do not believe that anyone can cleanse himself of sin. That is quite preposterous. But I am sure you did not mean for it to be an insult toward me.

    Billy

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Hi Billy,

    Thanks for clarifying your point. I assure you I did not mean it as an insult to you. When I first read your post it seemed to imply that it was up to the person to begin the cleansing process themselves. It is my understanding that the cleansing process must begin with God.

    On a side note, I actually enjoy your blog very much. I have it set in my RSS reader so I know when you post new articles. You may have also noticed that I have you in my blog roll. I appreciate your exegesis from an Arminian perspective….I have found that it has been hard to come by others willing to put forth their exegesis of the Biblical text.

    Like

  3. Billy Birch says:

    Thank you. I also have advertised your blog on my sidebar with a direct link. I will try to find a picture to go along with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

