Adoption Dilema – Prayers Requested

Yesterday before we left for church my wife and I were approached with an opportunity to adopt a distant relative of mine. He is 9 years old and his mother has passed away. He has two sisters, ages 13 and 11. Their father does not want them. I have never met any of these people. If someone in the family in not found soon to take them then they children will be placed into the government child care system. The boy lives in Florida…I live in East Tennessee. My wife and I have 3 daughters already…the youngest is only 5 months old.

I have a multitude of questions about how we have ended up as being the ones approached to take in the boy. I don’t understand why someone more closely related to him has not stepped forward, why are the people who are making the decisions trying to split up the kids, Is it God’s will for us to take in this child, how did the circumstances work out to get to us, does he have any mental, physical, or behavioral problems that we need to be aware of….just to name a few.

I can’t imagine what this young boy is going through….his mom died and his dad does not want him. On top of that, he may be separated from his sisters and moved to another state. I know that God is in control and that all things happen for a reason but sometimes it is hard not to question what God is doing.

Please pray for him (his name is Daniel) and his sisters. Also please pray for my wife and I as we try to gather all the necessary information and also to seek God’s will so that we can make the appropriate, informed decision. God’s will is the most important aspect. That will trump everything else, one way or the other.

8 Responses to Adoption Dilema – Prayers Requested

  1. krislinatin says:

    I’m sure you have thought of this: Boaz, the kinsman redeemer.
    I’m praying its Gods will you take these children. It will be hard, but it will be so worth it.
    Kristina
    Keep us posted….

    Like

  2. billy says:

    I have just finished praying for Daniel, his sisters, and you and your family on this matter of adoption.

    If this young man falls into your lap, so to speak, I believe God will grant you all the strength to take him in and love him as your own.

    God bless and direct . . .

    Billy

    Like

  3. Tom says:

    Thanks, Kristina

    Like

  4. Tom says:

    Thanks Billy

    Like

  5. Brett says:

    Count on our prayers. Keep us posted.

    Like

  6. Tom says:

    Thanks Brett

    Like

  7. Not an easy situation! Best wishes to you as you make the decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

