Karen Armstrong On Those Who Believe In The End Times

While discussing the “Left Behind” series, Armstrong said

“It’s a strange thing in this country that people have this view of the world. If these people went to a psychiatrist, they would be diagnosed with a psychological disorder. The fact that so many people subscribe to this shows a profound unease, fear, a feeling of impotence, rage and pent-up fury.”

I am not sure that I agree with all the theology in the Left Behind series but I do believe in a Pre-Tribulation Rapture. I guess that means in Armstrong’s world I suffer from a psychological disorder. I am curious…how many of you also suffer from a psychological disorder?

I think her conclusions about people who hold these end times beliefs are all wrong as well. These things give me a peace as I face the troubled world that we live in. As I consider the world that my kids will have after I am gone I am comforted that God is in control and that He has a plan. My feelings are far from those (unease, fear, impotence, rage, and fury) she tries to ascribe to me and those who believe like I do. It would seem more logical to me that those who have no hope after this life would be the people who have these feelings of unease and fear.

See the source here.

2 Responses to Karen Armstrong On Those Who Believe In The End Times

  1. Tasha says:

    are we wrong for wanting to believe that there is a just reason. This is what might have been ment and what has been told would happen?

    Like

  2. Tasha says:

    I would rather beleive in the lord than believe we have been ignorantly lead into distruction. I will be at peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

