Questions About Practical Implications Of Reformed Theology

If you have read my blog for any length of time then you know that I have recently embraced Reformed Theology (Calvinism or The Doctrines of Grace if you prefer).  This was a long process for me.  I struggled with it for a while partly because I was not sure how the change in theology would affect my status in my church.  I attend a small very traditional SBC church.

Another reason I hesitated was because I did not understand the practical implications of this theological switch.  I still struggle with it some.  I am trying to get an idea of how we “do church” from a reformed perspective.  My church is not reformed and I do not know of any reformed church with a 30 minute drive of my home.  There may be some but I am not aware of any.  I would like to find one that I could visit to see how things are done.

Now to the point of this post.  For those of you who attend a reformed church (preferably reformed baptist), I am curious about the day to day operation of how things are done.  Some questions I have are:

  1. Do most reformed churches have more than one elder?
  2. If so, how do the elders function?
  3. How are other leaders chosen?
  4. How are the worship services organized?
  5. Do you have alter calls during the service?
  6. How do visitors become members?
  7. How are the small groups (and other discipleship training classes) organized and what is their purpose and focus?
  8. How do you do evangelism?
  9. How do you equip the saints for ministry?
  10. How do you do youth and children’s ministry?

This is just a few questions.  Please don’t feel that you must answer all of them to post a response.  I also expect to have other questions…as they come to me or as a result of reading your responses.

Thanks for taking the time to help educate me.

3 Responses to Questions About Practical Implications Of Reformed Theology

  1. krislinatin says:

    1.Do most reformed churches have more than one elder?
    We have a teaching/preaching elder and one other, voting is in the wroks for another elder.

    2. If so, how do the elders function?
    I guess i answered that, 1 is pastor elder, and one is elder. they plus the deacons are council. council rules.

    3. How are other leaders chosen?
    Congregation and council nominate and congragation vote

    4.How are the worship services organized?
    From an old lutheran or reformed worship schedule, very traditional, i can show you a copy if you e-mail me.

    5. Do you have alter calls during the service?
    no, but the gospel is always spoken of to the non-christian and choice given to talk to pastor privately.

    6. How do visitors become members?
    take a 4 part class for membership

    7. How are the small groups (and other discipleship training classes) organized and what is their purpose and focus?
    council apporves it, deacons make it happen, depending on the purpose, fun or service will depend on who leadership is.

    8.How do you do evangelism?
    um, personal. we don’t do much door to door neighborhood stuff (which I am sad about) we strive to have relationships that can invoke talk of the gospel.

    9.How do you equip the saints for ministry?
    bible studies, there were some classes and handbook given to my hubby when he became deacon.

    10.How do you do youth and children’s ministry?
    we have very little youth. sunday school, a mid week study (more fun and less structured than sunday school) and we are working on the parents of the youth are hosting an event every month.

    We are not baptist but reformed. a small church of about 110 people.

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Krislinatin,

    Thanks for taking the time to answer all these questions.

    Like

  3. I too have recently had my eyes opened to the Doctrines of Grace by God’s kindness. As one who has been doing street evangelism for several years, I realized I needed to study more about the gospel. I had been saying things that I now see are not biblically accurate. For example, I would tell people “If you were the only person on earth, Jesus would have died for you.” I said it because I had heard others say it and it made the person feel so special…and obligated. I also used to use a very popular method of witnessing. Methods can be good when they are used as crutches to help one walk but it’s far too easy to let them become wheelchairs.

    All of this is to say, whether you are Reformed or not, it’s so important to study the gospel so you can share it clearly with others. That’s what our ministry is all about. http://www.CompelledToTell.com Hope you’ll check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

