Simple Church – Chapter 9

Church complexity is costly. The cost is beyond time and money. The kingdom is not expanding. Lives are not being changed. Transformation is not happening. Churches are not growing.

Tragically, in most churches, the pain of change is greater than the pain of ineffectiveness.

This is the last chapter of the book. It summarizes some practical aspects of “becoming simple”. We are presented with a choice – Change or Die.

We must be concerned not only with what we are doing but also how we are doing it. Clarity, Movement, Alignment, and Focus all come into play here. We are charged by God to do everything to the best of our ability. God wants excellence. “It in impossible to offer excellence when focus is so divided.” (p. 235) God is not satisfied with mediocrity.

This book has changed the way I view how we are to “do church”. Before reading this book I believed the way to draw in more people was to offer something for everyone. I guess that is the “if you build it they will come” philosophy. I no longer think this way. In most areas of my life I have made the effort to follow the K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid) principle but I did not apply that to my thinking about church. I was wrong….but now I have become consistent in this area.

If you have not read this book I highly recommend it to you. It will not be time wasted and I think you will enjoy it. If you do read it, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

