What Is The Goal Of Your Theology?

Billy posed this question in his post over at Classical Arminianism. I thought it was a very good question and one worthy of all of our consideration.

Did you know that you had a theology? You do…everyone does. Some people have good theology and some people have bad theology and there are various degrees of each. Theology drives many of our discussions about religion even if we do not realize it. Meriam-Webster defines theology as “the study of religious faith, practice, and experience; especially : the study of God and of God’s relation to the world.

Until about 2 years ago, I did not like theology. I was not interested in it because it seemed boring. I saw no benefit from studying it. Let me tell you now that I WAS WRONG. My eyes have been opened to the study of theology as well as the benefits that come from it. Until we begin our study of theology we will not grow beyond the initial stages of sanctification and will not mature as Christians.

Having said all that, let return to the initial question. What is the goal of your theology? Have you ever thought about it? I had not. The question made me think. Billy answers the question with some quotes from Arminius. He says

“For Arminius, theology was more than a composite of various teachings; the goal of theology was to glorify God.”

There it is.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  There is nothing that can be said to improve upon it.  The goal of our theology should be to glorify God.  Anything else is missing the point.

Now for the hard part.  What does it mean to glorify God?  How can we glorify God in our theology?  Here there is room for some interpretation and Christian liberty.  What is not allowed is anything contradictory to the Word.  We must have a commitment to a systematic study of God and His word.  We must also seek to become consistent in how we apply the doctrines of God’s Word.  If we do these two things we will mature as Christians and God will be glorified in our theology.  After all, isn’t that what all Christians are commanded to do.

What do you all think?

3 Responses to What Is The Goal Of Your Theology?

  1. adopted says:

    theology? study?

    last time i checked, the original 12 apostles were mostly uneducated. some of them couldn’t read.

    an “untheological” child can bring more glory to God than all the theologians in the world.

    can we trust in the Holy Spirit for a change? oh, i forgot, you’re an arminianist. don’t read your Bible? not guided anyways.

    kind regards,
    paul

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Paul,

    You are mistaken….I am not an Arminian I am reformed in my theology. Billy, who wrote the post I linked to, is Arminian in his theology. His question made me think, that is what prompted me to write this post.

    You are correct in the fact that the apostles were not formally educated and mostly just common people. The part that you are forgetting is that they were taught by Jesus Himself…..can you think of a better theological professor that God incarnate? I can’t.

    Now for the Holy Spirit, you are correct that He is to be our teacher today. He is our guide as we grow in our faith and knowledge. The Bible commands to increase our knowledge…how do we do that. I propose that the way to do that is to study theology. How do you suggest we do it?

    Finally, before you accuse me of not reading my bible or being guided by the Spirit I think you need to read some more of my posts. Then come back and we can discuss how the Spirit has led me. Until then, please do not make baseless accusations.

    Like

  3. Tom says:

    Paul,

    As I have thought about your post some more I feel the need to respond more thoroughly than I did in my first response.

    2 Peter 3:18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

    You said “theology? study?“. You are clearly implying that we do not need to study theology. You are wrong in that. We study theology every time we study God’s word. By studying theology we grow in our Knowledge of God.

    You also say

    can we trust in the Holy Spirit for a change?

    YES, but not for a change, we need to rely on Him all the time…continuously if you prefer. I want to make sure I understand your meaning in the comment….are you suggesting that the Holy Spirit will give us new revelation? If so then you are not worshiping the God of the Bible. The Holy Spirit is supposed to teach and guide us as study God’s word. Do you not agree that is one of the tasks of the Holy Spirit?

    Lastly, you say

    oh, i forgot, you’re an arminianist. don’t read your Bible? not guided anyways

    On what basis do you imply that Arminians do not read their Bible and are not guided by the Spirit? You have made a broad general attack here without any information to explain as to why. You are committing the N=1 fallacy. It might be true that there are people who claim to be Arminians who are guilty of the charges you have placed against them but that does not mean that they are all that way.

    I know from personal experience that you accusations are not true of all Arminians. My Pastor is someone most would label as an Arminian (although he would not put that label on himself) and I know his heart. I know that he reads and studies the Bible and that he daily seeks the guidance of the Spirit. Billy, whose post inspired mine, takes the label Arminian without reservation. Although I do not know him personally, I have interacted with him on his blog and my own several times. I have no reason to question his heart or his commitment to God’s Word or his desire to be led by the Spirit.

    In the future, if you choose to make such sweeping accusations please give some information to back them up. If you can’t do that then you should keep them to yourself. Attaches such as the ones you made say a lot more about the person making them than the people they are leveled against.

    I hope you actually take time to read and respond to my comments. Then we can have a discussion. I look forward to the opportunity to have that discussion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

