Alan Keyes Leaving Republican Party

Source:  www.Alankeyes.com

I have been considering leaving the Republican party myself.  It saddens me even to think about it but I feel like I have no choice.  To borrow a quote from Ronald Reagan when he was asked about why he left the Democratic party – I have not left the republican party, the republican party has left me.

I do not feel that I am represented any longer by anyone in the republican party.  Don’t get me wrong, I still think there are some good people in the republican party but not many.  Most of the leaders of the party no longer represent the conservative values of the majority of party members.  As a result, I am not left with any other option other than to leave.

I find it interesting that Keyes is considering the Constitution Party as an alternative.  I have been looking at them for a couple months now.  I actually put myself on their mailing list so I could get more information and keep up to date on what they are doing.  Keyes said this of the Constitution Party:

“No other ‘third party’ is as well-established as the Constitution Party,” said Keyes. “They’ve been around since 1992, and have built a significant grassroots presence among patriotic, Constitution-minded citizens — with a registered membership of over 350,000. Conservatives have a home in the CP that they can find nowhere else, given the decline in the Republican Party’s credibility as a voice and vehicle for conservatism.”

I have been waiting for some big name person or group to make a break from the Republican Party and join the Constitution Party (or form a new one).  This would give some more credibility to that party.  I have been struggling with the possibility of not voting in the presidential election this year because I can’t in good conscience vote for McCain, Clinton, or Obama.  If Keyes does join the Constitution Party and runs this year as their candidate then I will have someone I can vote for.

If you have been struggling like I have then check out Keyes and the Constitution Party.  Tell me what you think.

5 Responses to Alan Keyes Leaving Republican Party

  1. There was some expert (or “expert”) who thought that both the Dems and GOP would both split into two parties within 20 years. Unfortunately, I don’t remember where it was or I’d link it.

    It’s probably about time. Right now, we get two parties who get as close as they can to the middle without alienating their base.

    Of course, there’s always the CPUSA

    Like

  2. I don’t know how that smiley got in there. Oops.

    Like

  3. Oh, and regarding the Constitution Party…they are small enough to still maintain genuineness. Their stance on limiting government is appealing. However, the Libertarians might be a better fit for me.

    While recognizing that one’s religion will influence one’s viewpoint, I believe it’s important to keep religion out of the realm of government as much as possible. Their mission statement talking about returning to Biblical principles makes me uneasy.

    Like

  4. Tom says:

    LEP,

    I think that there is potential for the Democrats to split no matter who gets the nomination. In most election cycles that would be great news. Then there is the Republicans and their nomination of McCain. He will cause the true conservatives to not vote or leave the party. These two parties no longer represent most Americans so it is only a matter of time before they are phased out.

    Like

  5. Tom says:

    LEP,

    The Constitution Party claims to be the largest “third” party. I really like their position on the issues. I think they will be a viable option for Christians. I do not advocate a theocracy but I don’t think religion should be purposefully kept out of government. I think if we can return our government to Biblical principles we would all be better off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

