Chapter 12: Adoption

Source: 1689 London Baptist Confession of Faith

Chapter 12
ADOPTION

12.1 God has granted1 that, in and for his only Son Jesus Christ,3 all those who are justified3 share in the grace of adoption. By this they are numbered with and enjoy the liberties and privileges of the children of God. They have his name put upon them,4 and receive the Spirit of adoption. They have access to the throne of grace with boldness, and are able to cry, ‘Abba, Father!’5 They are pitied, protected, provided for, and chastened by him as by a father, yet they are never cast off, but are sealed to the day of redemption,6 and inherit the promises as heirs of everlasting salvation.7

(1) 1Jo 3:1-3
(2) Eph 1:5; Gal 4:4-5; Rom 8:17,29
(3) Gal 3:24-26
(4) Rom 8:17; Joh 1:12; 2Co 6:18; Rev 3:12
(5) Rom 8:15; Eph 3:12; Rom 5:2; Gal 4:6; Eph 2:18
(6) Psa 103:13; Pro 14:26; Mat 6:30,32; 1Pe 5:7; Heb 12:6; Isa 54:8-9; Lam 3:31; Eph 4:30
(7) Rom 8:17; Heb 1:14; 9:15

2 Responses to Chapter 12: Adoption

  1. pianoguy91 says:

    Mr. Tom,

    I just came across your blog today though my tag searching on my dashboard here at WordPress. I am a teenager up in Wisconsin, and I attend a 1689 Baptist Confession church called Christ Reformed Baptist Church in Milwaukee, WI. I have breezed though a few of your posts and I am very glad to find another good blog to refer to and read.

    I also wanted to inform you of a very good and also very popular blog that a member of my church runs. It is called Old Truth.com (www.oldtruth.com). If you have not found it or heard of it, I highly recommend it.

    Glad to have found you and look forward to reading more and continuing to read the 1689 Baptist Confession.

    Matt from soluscristus.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Matt,

    Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for the compliments. Thanks also for the recommendation of the other blog. I will check it out. I am impressed that you are interested in theology at such a young age. I have often wished I had been but unfortunately I was not a Christian during that time. I sometimes feel that I missed out on but then I remember that God has a plan for each of us and all things happen in His time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

