Obama’s Works Based Salvation

Obama claims to be a “committed Christian” but is he?  Read this article by Cal Thomas posted over at Baptist Press and decided for yourself?  He is quoted in the article as saying

“I believe there are many paths to the same place, and that is a belief that there is a higher power, a belief that we are connected as a people.”

and

“I don’t presume to have knowledge of what happens after I die. When I tuck in my daughters at night and I feel like I’ve been a good father to them, and I see that I am transferring values that I got from my mother and that they’re kind people and that they’re honest people, and they’re curious people, that’s a little piece of heaven.”

It doesn’t appear to me that Obama is a “committed Christian”.  It appears to me that he is a lost person.  Don’t get me wrong, this does not disqualify him from being president (although he will not be getting my vote).  It does, however, show that he has been deceived, at best, or is lying about his “Christianity”, at worst.  Either way he needs salvation.

6 Responses to Obama’s Works Based Salvation

  1. l3rucewayne says:

    Great article! Thanks for pointing it out. How is it that Cal Thomas is able to so consistently say things that hold my interest?

    Like

  2. Billy Birch says:

    “Higher Power.” I’m so sick of that mess. Angels are “higher powers” than human beings. Does that mean that if I believe in Angels that I’m spiritual and going to heaven?

    Where’s sin in his comments? Where’s redemption from sin? Where’s the need for Jesus Christ? Aaaahhhhh! This stuff makes me crazy. I’d rather he NOT say that he’s a “Christian” than to confess that he is and lead others to think erroneously like him.

    This frustrates me.
    Billy

    Like

  3. Tom says:

    I agree completely. I can’t believe people buy this guy’s lies.

    Like

  4. I believe there are many paths to the same place, and that is a belief that there is a higher power

    I believe in the Mascot and that he’s a higher power. Does that count? And what is this “same place”?

    Christianity means so many things now. It’s not a useful term without knowing what the person means by it.

    Like

  5. Tom says:

    LEP,

    I agree that people have redefined the word Christianity into their own image. As a result, you are correct that you must define how you are using it…..hence the term “Biblical Christianity”.

    It is a sad situation that we find our country, and world, in these days.

    Like

  6. l3rucewayne says:

    LEP: I disagree, politicians find it a very useful term. I like to hope that maybe it is still a majority of American’s that have a decent idea of what Christianity is supposed to mean, but maybe it has fallen below half by now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

