Participating In Church Discipline For The First Time

Matthew 18:15-17 (15) “If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother. (16) But if he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, that every charge may be established by the evidence of two or three witnesses. (17) If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church. And if he refuses to listen even to the church, let him be to you as a Gentile and a tax collector.

For the first time, I find myself in a situation which requires church discipline.  A member of my Sunday School class has gone astray.  As we have prayed about and discussed this situation we have decided that we need to reach out to this member.  I am torn.  I feel the necessity to make the effort to bring the member back into the flock but I am not sure that it will do any good.

At this point, we are going to try if he will agree to meet with us.  The pastor has expressed a willingness to go with us.  I don’t want to put this off on the pastor but I am a bit relieved that he is willing to go with us.  I am not sure how to express that we care about this member and still be completely clear that he is in sin and in need of repentance.

Have you been involved in situations that required church discipline before?  If so, do you have any tips on how to do it effectively?

2 Responses to Participating In Church Discipline For The First Time

  1. Robert says:

    Tom,

    I actually was once on the other side of this. Without going into details, I was maintaining a sinful thing in my life. A VERY good friend of mine (whom I actually lead to the Lord earlier) read the above verse to me and I knew exactly what he was doing. He was right & I knew it. Although I did not immediately stop my sinful way, this did indeed prick my conscience because I knew what was the right thing to do. I, of course, did eventually correct the situation, maybe because of my friend’s love for me. I pray and am confident that this SS member will see that this is because of Christian love.

    RTL

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Robert,

    That is my hope as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

