Reading Jonathan Edwards

I am about to begin reading (with my theology study group) “Freedom of the Will” by Jonathan Edwards.  I have never read anything by Edwards before.  I have heard some very good things about him and have read that he is recognized as the greatest American theologian.  I have looked at the first section of the book and realize that this will be some heavy reading.  Even though it will be hard I expect it to be a profitable time.

Have you read anything by Edwards?  What is your impression?

One Response to Reading Jonathan Edwards

  1. l3rucewayne says:

    I think I learned in US history that he had a famous sermon “sinners in the hands of an angry God” and scared a lot of people into wanting to get religious. No doubt an unfair portrayal, history textbooks I suspect tend to do that with religious figures, but that’s all I know of him if I’m right that he is the same guy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

