Reading Psalms and Proverbs

Recently I have been drawn to reading the Psalms.  I have read them before but there is something different this time.  I seem to be able to understand more the depths the writer of the Psalms was in as he calls out to God in them.  I can see myself in the writers position as he calls out to God.  Maybe I have matured some as a Christian or maybe God is preparing me for something.  Maybe it is both.

I read a quote by Billy Graham in a story written about him in the USA Today in 2005 that I would like to share with you.  He said

“I used to read five psalms every day — that teaches me how to get along with God. Then I read a chapter of Proverbs every day and that teaches me how to get along with my fellow man.”

I had never heard that before but it is profound, at least to me.  I can see the wisdom in doing what he did.  I am thinking about trying this myself.  Psalms and Proverbs are rich sources of spiritual nourishment for the Christian.  I encourage you to partake of that nourishment.

Leave a Reply

