Mohler: How To Use A Study Bible

Dr. Mohler has posted a short article on his blog discussing how to use a study bible.  It is a good article and worth taking the time to read.  If you have not used a study bible before I would encourage you to examine one.  It really helps as you to get the full picture as you read and study the text.

I have several and they are a big help when I prepare my Sunday School lessons.  The notes are useful in clarifying obscure passages or setting the scene.  The cross references are helpful in letting the Bible interpret itself.

I use a couple study bibles regularly.  I use the ESV Study Bible and the Ryrie NASB Study Bible.  I have a couple others that I use occasionally as well.  So, if you don’t already have a study bible then I suggest that you think about getting one.  Do some research and find one that bests fits your desire for translation method and check into who wrote the notes.  It will be a purchase that will give you many great returns.

2 Responses to Mohler: How To Use A Study Bible

  1. l3rucewayne says:

    I’ve been enjoying the apologetics study Bible. What I do is read the scriptures from an NIV bible then I look at the apologetics foot notes and any articles that come up from page to page, they’ve got some good ones.

    Like

  2. Tom Shelton says:

    Jerry,

    I am curious. Have you studied Koine Greek and Hebrew? If so where. From your post it makes me think that you have not. I would assume that you have used the method you have described with the interlinear and that you don’t really know the original languages. If you have not studied the original languages then how do you feel you can give the greek lessons you have included in the many comments you have left on my blog? Why should people believe you over someone who has put in years of study learning the original languages? A little knowledge is a dangerous thing and I am afraid you have shown that to us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

