Open Thread: What Does Christ’s Death On The Cross Mean To You?

Today is Good Friday and I have been thinking some about the significance of the events of this day in my life.  For those that are not familiar with Good Friday, this is the day we (Christians) celebrate the death of Jesus on the cross and what it accomplished.

I am very thankful for what Jesus did for me.  I know that He was thinking about me as He suffered for my sins.  I know that He did it willingly and with joy because He could see the reward for what He was doing.  It is hard for me to imagine what He went through.  I have read the accounts in the Bible and I have seen Mel Gibson’s Passion of the Christ but I can’t help but think that the reality is far worse than my mind can comprehend without seeing it first hand.  I have read some modern medical explanations of crucifixion and I am glad that I did not see it first hand.  I am more glad that I did not have to experience it firsthand.

I am most thankful that God chose to provide a way that I, in my sinful depraved state, could be reconciled to Him and that I do not have to pay for my sinfulness myself for all eternity.  It is a debt that I can never pay in full.  Christ, however, could and did pay my debt in full.  He has purchased my freedom with His blood.  He is now my Savior and my King.  If you are His, then He has done the same to you.

Christ’s death has given me freedom to be who I was designed to be in God’s plan.  It has allowed me to not fear the circumstances of my life because I know that God is in control of all things.  That does not mean that I don’t have fear or worry but it means that if I am relying on Him I don’t have to have those things.  I can now seek only to please God and not worry about anything else.  He is sovereign in my life.  Even though I fail Him, He still loves me and still works in my life.

Is He sovereign in your life?

14 Responses to Open Thread: What Does Christ’s Death On The Cross Mean To You?

  1. rogeriopfm says:

    I Think that what Christ did with the lenders in the temple is much more relevant t society than the way He died. But this is just my opinion.

    Like

  2. Tom Shelton says:

    Roger,

    Please explain.

    Are you saying the lessons He taught us on how to live are more important than His death?

    Like

  3. rogeriopfm says:

    Simply because I consider banking institutions the closest thing to the embodiment of evil.
    They are particularly detrimental in the US where they practically hunt people for credit and to apply their toxic interest rates.
    They prey upon the weak (poor) because they know that they need credit the most and they are more likely to pay back because they have no legal leverage.
    If you say Christ’s death was important. I say his life was even more important. If there is something that someone perpetuates after he’s death it is his actions, not actions performed by others to him, as was His crucification as mentioned in the bible.
    Anyway historians are today still striving to ascertain what really happened at that time. Regardless of that, the moral teachings are real and should be appreciated in all their glory. Those were the things that really made me think there is some usefulness in this fragmented religion. Nowadays his death is flaunted in films like mel gibson’s to impress emotionally. As I said, this is just my opinion.

    Like

  4. @rogeriopfm: You think the banks are evil? You’ve never been forced to watch the movie “Leprechaun 5: In the Hood”.

    Like

  5. l3rucewayne says:

    Rog: Of course the assumption in what you’re saying is that Christ didn’t accomplish on the cross what mainstream Christianity holds that He did: His payment for our sins in our stead, that is, on our behalf. If this was in fact accomplished by Him then that fact, along with His resurrection, is certainly more relevant to us today than his driving out of money changers.

    I think His dying on the cross constituted action on His part in probably more ways than one, I think primarily though of His going through with it all when He had the power to save Himself.

    On your historians comment, the truth is that even most critical (I wish to emphasize that word with italics but I have forgotten how.) New Testament historians affirm that Christ died by crucifixion. If I recall my reading correctly, this has not always been the case, but in modern times it has been too well established from the evidence for most critical New Testament historians to deny that fact. Historians may still be arguing over whether there was a resurrection, but the case for that really is quite strong, but ideological bias has a huge influence on how historians interpret the data. A good beginner text for seeing how strong that case is would be the now classic book by Lee Strobel, “The Case for Christ”. I think Gary Habermas however is probably the leading expert on the evidence for the resurrection, Just check out either of his debates with Antony Flew, total knockouts.

    Like

  6. l3rucewayne: Bring your blog back. This is a demand.

    Like

  7. l3rucewayne says:

    🙂 The thousand dollar offer still holds, cheapskate.

    Like

  8. l3rucewayne says:

    Aw:-(, I can’t take your clearly authentic money, it just doesn’t feel right. Go put it in savings and watch it grow.

    Like

  9. Rich L says:

    An atheists thoughts on the crucifixion.

    Jesus’ death is in and of itself of little importance. For it to be of any value whatsoever His death must go hand in hand with His words.

    First is that you must be Know that Jesus is your savior. It does no good to believe in God or Jesus as the Son of God if you don’t Know him. Know He is your savior as you know that your fingers belong to you, it’s a no brainer, something so obvious that you could not even wonder about it.

    Second is following His words. The words of John, Mathew, Luke or any others are like are like a recipe in a cook book, worthwhile beyond a doubt but without the main ingredient they are of little value.

    I leave you with this question.

    Do you know, truly know, where you live?

    Luke 8:13 They on the rock are they, which, when they hear, receive the word with joy; and these have no root, which for a while believe, and in time of temptation fall away.

    Luke 8:15 But that on the good ground are they, which in an honest and good heart, having heard the word, keep it, and bring forth fruit with patience.

    Peace and harmony be with you.

    Rich L

    Like

  10. intideFeese says:

    Gday guys.

    I have already been stuck at an airport in Stockholm for 5 days with out being able to discover a flight back home. This really is definitely getting irritating, I’m not even getting any settlement from the airline. Any one else in the exact same predicament or have got a buddy with the same difficulties?

    I’m sorry for the complain post however I felt that I had to voice my frustration.

    Like

  11. You actually might have read that the makers of Southpark are now being threatened for their life by Islamic extremists for broadcast an episode displaying Muhammed.

    If you’ve viewed the actual show you will be aware that they didn’t even show him. Anybody think this has gone extremely too far?

    Like

  12. Rev P.J.Ank says:

    Nice message

    Like

Leave a Reply

